If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is

Quote by Kurt Vonnegut:

I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘if this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is’

So you know that new catchprase thing “YOLO”?  Well, I hate it. Mostly because I think written out on paper it looks weird.  And it sounds weird too.  It kind of makes me crave some type of prepackaged little debbie snack: “Hey did you pack the yolo’s?” “Nah man, we gotta get us some of those at the next gas stop”.

But I suppose the underlying message is nice. We do only live once. Unless you are a cat, then YOLNT. Anyways, if you read my last post with the John Green quote you’ll notice I’m feeling a bit… inspirational.  I’ve always been a big quote person and pinterest definitely allows me to collect some of my favorites that are in image format.  I also have a couple documents on my computer with quotes.  And most have the same theme: I love life and I love celebrating life.

Two of my favorite quotes and mantras are:

“If you have no reason to say no, say yes”
This is from one of my good friends in Mankato, Justin Rudeen.  He probably doesn’t even remember saying it to me in his car on the intersection of James ave and Stadium but I sure do, and I love it.

“Don’t let your fears make your decisions, you make them”
I actually found this one in a random book my mom bought me.  I don’t even know if I have the book, but I remember the image it was displayed on.  Full disclosure: I’m pretty sure I was on the toilet, circa 2000, when I came upon this quote in this random book.

These two quotes especially have made me realize that this is my life and it is my responsibility to live it to the fullest, and how I want to.  I try to always enjoy what I’m doing, and if I don’t enjoy it then I generally don’t do it.  This may make me seem selfish at times, but I’m trying to make myself happy.   I’ve applied this to school, relationships, and friendships especially.  And obviously you can’t be completely narcissistic.  I do things for others plenty of the time, but I don’t do it to the point that it makes me depressed.  Actually, I often find joy in helping others.

I guess there is no point in this blog post.  I did have a point and then found a quote to start it off with and have since forgotten my original point.  What I’m trying to say is: Don’t be afraid to live for yourself.  Surround yourself with amazing people who not only make you feel happy but stimulate your brain.  Play kickball with your newish friends on a random Tuesday night.

Leave a Reply

